Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Proud Of Our History Honorees

Meet the previous winners of the college's Proud Of Our History award, recognizing emeriti faculty for their contributions to the college.

2016 Honoree: Mark Smylie Heading link

Mark Smylie shakes hands with Dean Alfred Tatum at the 2016 Proud Of Our History Luncheon.

Mark Smylie, PhD, professor emeritus of educational policy studies, focused his research efforts on school organization and processes of school organizational change, administrative and teacher leadership and development and urban school improvement.  He served as a department chair at the College, secretary-treasurer of the National Society for the Study of Education and director of the Consortium on Chicago School Research at the University of Chicago. As a scholar, he earned a National Academy of Education Postdoctoral Fellowship, the William J. Davis Award from the University Council for Educational Administration and the American EducationalResearch Association’s Research Review Award.